Support: Vinyl
Year: 2019
Cat. 4WDV013


1. Everybody Get Ready – Michael Prophet 
2. Everybody Get Dub – Disciples 
3. One Man Life – Johnny Clarke 
4. One Man Dub – Disciples 

Mastered by Discples

‘The right thing EP’ is born out of the crucial collaboration between 4Weed Music, Echotronix Soundsystem and Russ Bell-Brown aka The Disciples – producer who played a key role in the UK deep roots revival of the first 90’s. The great vocal cut on the A side, recorded in Brixton in 2015 by Michael Prophet, is a big conscious tune which takes us back in the days, at the times of the collaboration with Yabby You. Just after voicing the riddim the whole studio started to dance ‘inna Shaka style’ and thanks to a killer mix by The Disciples, ‘Everybody get ready’ became a very appreciated dubplate, regularly played for years by Echotronix. After Michael Prophet’s passing in 2017, the tune remains an example of his versatile and creative style, even in the final part of his career. At the same time, on the B side, we find another legend of the roots and culture music: Johnny Clarke, still active from the 70’s with his unique and inimitable voice. ‘One man life’ is the tune on the same riddim, followed by another dub mix by The Disciples, which is the fourth and last track of the Ep. ‘The right thing Ep’ is a top notch sound system music release, with two legends on vocals.
It’s just the first one born out of this collaboration, so keep your ears open for the next great music releases. (Review by Pier Tosi)